EPA Refresher Course

On February 10, 2016, the Administrator signed a final rule to make several revisions to the RRP and Lead-based Paint Activities Programs. The revisions will improve the day-to-day function of the programs by reducing burdens to industry and EPA, and clarifying language for training providers.

First, EPA modified the requirement that the renovator refresher training course have a hands-on component under the RRP program. Under the final rule, Renovators can take a refresher course without the hands-on training every other time they get certified. A course without hands-on training can be taken completely online. Renovators who take the online training will be certified for three years; renovators who take the hands-on training will be certified for five years. Modifying the hands-on requirement would give renovators easier access to trainings saving them time and money and possibly resulting in a higher number of renovators taking the refresher course.

 Second, the Agency removed jurisdictions under the abatement program. Eliminating jurisdictions will lower burden and costs for applicants because they will send fewer applications and pay less in fees. Third, EPA added clarifying language to the requirements for training providers under both the RRP and abatement programs. Adding language to clarify what constitutes a violation would make the regulations consistent with other lead-based paint program regulations. This does not change any requirements for training providers.

 You can find information about the rule and a pre-publication copy of the Federal Register notice on EPA’s Lead Program website at www.epa.gov/lead.

FEE HOLIDAY – for Home Inspectors & Mold Svc.

There will be a FEE HOLIDAY for home inspectors who are renewing their license (active or inactive) in the 2014 renewal cycle. This means that home inspectors will only need to pay a $5.00 unlicensed activity fee in order to renew their license for the next two years. The fee must be paid before July 31, 2014 when the renewal period ends to avoid other fees. All licensees will be sent a renewal application which can be returned to the department with the $5.00 unlicensed activity fee or renew online through their individual account.

Please contact the department at 850.487.1395 if you have any questions, problems renewing or logging into your account.

News from the State of Florida

Last week, the Department partnered with several local agencies and the Department of Financial Services in an undercover operation in the Manatee County area seeking unlicensed individuals who were offering or advertising to perform construction work that they did not have a proper license to perform. As a result of the operation, nine individuals advertising as handymen were issued cease and desist notices from DBPR and the cases were turned over to the local State Attorney for prosecution.

A criminal offense of unlicensed activity can result in misdemeanor or felony charges if an individual is convicted. Floridians should report any suspected unlicensed activity by emailing ULA@myfloridalicense.com or calling the Unlicensed Activity Hotline at 1-866-532-1440. Additionally, before you hire anyone to perform services that require a license, be sure to verify their professional license on our website at www.myfloridalicense.com.

Updated Home Inspectors Information – Nov. 2013

On October 22, 2013, Rule Chapter 61-30, Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.), became effective. These rules, along with Chapter 468, Part XV, Florida Statutes, are the result of many coordinated efforts between the Department and industry stakeholders and are now final. Some parts of the pre-licensing and continuing education programs for home inspectors have changed as a result of these new rules. Some key changes are detailed below:

  • 1. Per Rule 61-30.501, F.A.C., the fee to renew or obtain a new provider license was reduced from $500 to $250.
  • 2. Per Rule 61-30.503(5)(b) and (5)(c), F.A.C., the 14 hours of continuing education required for licensed home inspectors must include 12 hours based on the components of a home as described in the rule, as well as 2 hours of instruction regarding hurricane mitigation training. Courses approved prior to October 22, 2013, will meet the existing education requirements for the 2014 license renewal cycle, but will not be renewed after the course’s expiration date. If a provider desires to continue offering the continuing education course after it expires, the provider will be required to submit a new course application that complies with the new requirements.
  • 3. Per Rule 61-30.503(6), F.A.C., the course topics included in the initial 120-hour pre-licensure education course must be based on the components of a home as described in the rule, and no longer include a live, field-based component. Courses approved prior to October 22, 2013, will continue to be accepted but will not be renewed after the course’s expiration date. If a provider desires to continue offering the pre-licensure education course after it expires, the provider will be required to submit a new course application that complies with the new requirements.
  • 4. Per Rule 61-30.503(9)(a), F.A.C., all instructors must hold active or inactive licenses as home inspectors. Unlicensed individuals may not serve as instructors for any approved course.

Identifying & sampling mold during a Home Inspection

mold-typesDeclaratory Statement to DPBR (Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulations)

Petitioner (Mark A. Cramer) sought clarification regarding the use of a home inspector license to identify and sample mold in a 10 sq. ft area.

The Department stated that Petitioner may inspect, sample, and identify visible mold, assuming the visible mold discovered during the home inspection is less than 10 square feet in area, and Petitioner is allowed to advertise mold testing, sampling, and inspections within the scope of licensure as a home inspector, so long so long as he does not use the terms “certified mold assessor,” “registered mold assessor,” “licensed mold assessor,” “mold assessor,” “professional mold assessor,” or any combination thereof stating or implying licensure as a mold assessor.

Declaratory Statements